THE CHEMIST'S TOOLKIT 27 **Dipolar** magnetic fields

Standard electromagnetic theory gives the magnetic field at a point *r* from a point magnetic dipole μ as

$$\mathcal{B} = -\frac{\mu_0}{4\pi r^3} \left(\mu - \frac{3(\mu \cdot r)r}{r^2} \right)$$
(27.1)

where μ_0 is the vacuum permeability (a fundamental constant with the defined value $4\pi \times 10^{-7} \text{ T}^2 \text{ J}^{-1} \text{ m}^3$). The component of magnetic field in the *z*-direction is

$$\mathcal{B}_{z} = -\frac{\mu_{0}}{4\pi r^{3}} \left(\mu_{z} - \frac{3(\boldsymbol{\mu} \cdot \boldsymbol{r})z}{r^{2}} \right)$$
(27.2)

with $z = r \cos \theta$, the *z*-component of the distance vector *r*. If the magnetic dipole is also parallel to the *z*-direction, it follows that

$$\mathcal{B}_{z} = -\frac{\mu_{0}}{4\pi r^{3}} \left(\frac{\mu_{z}}{\mu} - \frac{\frac{\mu r}{3(\mu r \cos\theta)(r \cos\theta)}}{r^{2}} \right) = -\frac{\mu \mu_{0}}{4\pi r^{3}} (1 - 3\cos^{2}\theta) (27.3)$$